RSS Feed

Inspiration by Deweys

Posted on
image

Creatures sculpted by me

A bakery on the East coast (probably one of the Carolinas) features a similar cake on its Facebook page. I live on the opposite coast, which is why I attempted to recreate the cake myself.

It’s a bit warm to be firing up the oven in Seattle so I ordered a tree stump cake from the local Safeway.  What they created based on my drawing and description didn’t quite hit the mark – instead of using chocolate frosting as the bark they used white buttercream and airbrushed it “brown.” Not quite a fail, but a disappointment. I told them it was awesome, paid for it, then brought it home to fix.

Grocery store bakeries use a LOT of frosting no matter what you ask for, so my fix was easier than expected.  I scooped off the frosted sides into a bowl, added cocoa and some gel coloring with a hand mixer, then piped it all back on.  My pre-made figures were added later.

I did this in the interest of time.  Safeway would have happily re-done the cake for me had I asked, and their cakes are delicious (the prime reason I went there), so the initial product was not technically at fault. It looked EXACTLY like the picture I drew for them. I only wish I’d used a darker brown marker to color it.

About waywardclay

I am a musician and designer living in the Pacific Northwest. I have a day job, but you won't hear about that here. I make things out of thoughts, situations, polymer clay, and other media. Sometimes they're actually pretty good. Visit my Etsy store or download my available songs from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

