RSS Feed

Flexing the Creative Muscle

Posted on

I don’t do nearly as much online as I do in “meatspace.”  My craft nights got a little complicated as I sorted out my personal life, but I kept going with or without people to join me.

As an IT professional I make a decent living.  As I get older, though, I find that it’s not exactly a career I can grow old in.  I’d like to transition at some point into something I can do without gender or age discrimination, and if it means I do something cliche, then that’s what I do.  I’m totally and completely okay with that.

I have a number of polymer sculptures I haven’t bothered to put up on my Etsy store because I like them way too much to sell.  Once I get over that I’ll post them.  They’ll either sell or they won’t.  After all these years I’m still finding my niche.

In the meantime I’m exploring painting in acrylics, sculpting in fondant (easier said than done, actually), and a few different types of jewelry.  One of these things has to catch on eventually.  Not just as something that will sell, but as something that I truly enjoy making AND will sell.  I’ll make a better effort to keep you posted.

Fondant Mushrooms

Just one element of a woodland creature-themed birthday cake. Fondant is not anything like polymer to sculpt with.

About waywardclay

I am a musician and designer living in the Pacific Northwest. I have a day job, but you won't hear about that here. I make things out of thoughts, situations, polymer clay, and other media. Sometimes they're actually pretty good. Visit my Etsy store or download my available songs from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

