RSS Feed

All About the Merch

Ive been under a pile of paperwork getting album #2 out the door.  You’d think it would be pretty simple if all the tracks were good to go, right? For all intents and purposes it should have, but I’m a horrible procrastinator when it comes to album art. I waited until the last minute on album #1 and #2 was no different.  I got lucky with a few good shots at a show we did at The High Dive in Seattle’s Fremont neighborhood, stitched something together, and there it was.

Aside from all the creative fun stuff, there’s the legal crap to deal with, and publishing, bla bla bla… It took way too long from first recording to having the box of packaged CDs arrive on my doorstep, but they’re here.  “Good to Drive” officially drops December 6, and should be available online at CD Baby by then. They also sell physical CDs if downloads aren’t your thing OR you could just come to a show if you’re nearby (hint hint).

Part of the marketing effort went into merchandising. For the first release, “Short Story,” I created a cute little character magnet to go with the red/grey/black theme that sold pretty well. I have a new design in that vein in the works that includes the rest of the band, but in the interest of time I cheated a little and opted for using a photo of my original magnet.  In the pic here you can see the band- and magnet- themed scrabble tiles offered at our most recent show. They might end up on Etsy as part of a package deal, but I haven’t decided yet.

So there you go.

image

About waywardclay

I am a musician and designer living in the Pacific Northwest. I have a day job, but you won't hear about that here. I make things out of thoughts, situations, polymer clay, and other media. Sometimes they're actually pretty good. Visit my Etsy store or download my available songs from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

