RSS Feed

Always Making Something

image

This is our display from our space in Foolscap's Art Show. I got the unfinished case from Ben Franklin Crafts on sale and painted it red and black. It looks nice but needs shellac.

I originally posted this from my mobile phone.  It has since been edited so it doesn’t look so crappy.  -WC

Melody and I ended up spending several very long days preparing for our first “show” at Foolscap, a teeny little sci-fi convention in Redmond. Our work ended up on display in the art show instead of the merchants room, which was not what we were expecting but turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I wasn’t able to hang around for the end of the event to see if we sold anything… I should probably call Melody about that.  I figure if nothing sold we at least got some exposure and parted with a few business cards.

In the days that followed I had a lot of creative energy I didn’t know what to do with. Two more Christmas doll sets are complete and a third is awaiting final touches. I guess now I have plenty of time to start and finish a few Halloween dolls as well. I’ll go into more detail about them in another post.

image

This is the finished product. I missed a few spots with the paint, but the effect is like worn denim.

I dug out the white bridal corset I wore at my wedding a hundred years ago and repurposed it as a costume piece to perform in. That was fun – a can of craft spray paint and some decorative trim left over from an old dress project and violá! From bridal novelty to fashion accessory in just a few simple steps. I included a couple of pictures to show you how it turned out.

image

See? Worn Denim. Actually if you look close up you can tell the effect is because I missed a spot. Darn.

You know, I had been meaning to do something with that corset for a very long time but didn’t think I had a right to, even after the marriage became ancient history. Plus, I thought I’d screw it up somehow. What made me take the plunge? I had reached a point where one, I didn’t care if I screwed it up, and two, I really needed something to wear for my gig on Sunday. I rather like it. It looked pretty good on, too (despite the fact I could hardly move in it).

image

There is SO MUCH hardware fabric left over from this project I will likely try again . This works great, but I'd like to be able to put the lid on it.

The project that exhausted my creative energy was the cat litter filter.  I spent my entire Monday evening including the Kate Plus 8 finale and two episodes of My Big Fat Gypsy

Wedding putting it together. Martha now has a litter doohickey for her Feline Pine, and I have a need to see more gypsy princess dresses.

Speaking of gypsy weddings, I noticed a lot of them had huge cakes adorned with Barbie dolls in bridesmaids’ dresses. It’s a cute idea (heck I’ve done something similar) but dangit those dolls’ hairdos looked horrible!  Seriously, people, a boil perm isn’t that hard. After I finished thinking how much better I could have made them look I wondered if I could make a living doing that for a bakery or something. Hey, I watch Duff and his cakey friends. They sculpt some fun stuff, but I can do better.

Right now I’m coming down from my creative high and hoping to find my motivation again. I can feel it right around the corner, I just need to be ready to grab it when it crosses my path.

About waywardclay

I am a musician and designer living in the Pacific Northwest. I have a day job, but you won't hear about that here. I make things out of thoughts, situations, polymer clay, and other media. Sometimes they're actually pretty good. Visit my Etsy store or download my available songs from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

