RSS Feed

The Christmas Clothespin Brigade

My Clothespin Witch Brigade sold for a mere $15 in 2010. I am still learning how to price my creations.

Last year I made these fun little clothespin dolls for Halloween and charged, like, fifty cents for the set of five.  They were time-consuming and awesome, but I might as well have given them away, and many people asked when I was going to make more.  I’ll get there y’all — keep your shirt on and calm the heck down.  First, I have Christmas to think of.

Designing these holiday dolls is the easy part.  Assembly is something else entirely.  One major thing I learned with the Halloween dolls is that the devil is in the details.  Sure I picked out the color scheme and the fabrics and the general outfit design, but I didn’t get around to assigning colors, fabrics, or any other details until I had all the parts collected in front of me.  Who gets the chestnut hair?  Who gets the pumpkin fabric?  Planning seems like a no-brainer, but I wasn’t there yet.  I was still in the mindset that I am the artiste, I will go where the creativity takes me!  What a crock of balderdash.  Plan the design.  Plan the crap out of it.

Glue. Believe it or not, it's less time-consuming than sewing al these pieces together. After a few of these skirts were attached I had to file down the insides of the spring clothespins and wrap them in tape to keep them from sticking to the wrong things and mucking it all up.

Remember my last post?  The one with the colored pins set next to the ribbons and the fabrics?  That’s me fiddling about with the design details, and it still isn’t final.  I thought I had it all figured out.  The end product turned out fine, but not perfect.  I kept looking at the dolls next to each other and thinking the colors weren’t balanced enough.  Too much green here, not enough light color to balance the dark there, that kind of thing.  I still have three sets left to assemble.  No two sets will be exactly the same because I am still working out the colors to my satisfaction.

As of this writing the first set of Christmas dolls are DONE.  I have added all the little bits and pieces I am going to, cleaned up the excess glue goobers, and inspected them all for anything else that might not make them perfect.  If you love them and want them, they’ll be on my Etsy store this weekend.  If you love them, want them, but someone else beat you to them… give me a day or two.  Like I said — there are three more sets left to do.  I will be listing them over at waywardclay.etsy.com in the next several days.

The dolls in this pic are not 100% complete. If you want to see the finished product, keep an eye on waywardclay.etsy.com for the listing. Look real close and you can see my original design sketch in the background.

Once these are complete I won’t make any more until 2012.  Halloween is not too far off, though.  While I still have the clothespin decorating bug I’ll likely make more sets of the witch brigade dolls.  We’ll see.

About waywardclay

I am a musician and designer living in the Pacific Northwest. I have a day job, but you won't hear about that here. I make things out of thoughts, situations, polymer clay, and other media. Sometimes they're actually pretty good. Visit my Etsy store or download my available songs from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

